Maryland Commission on Climate Change <u>Meeting Minutes</u> January 20, 2015 Aeris Conference Room Maryland Department of the Environment 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore

In attendance: David Costello, MDE; Zoe Johnson, DNR; Delegate Dana Stein; Nancy Kopp, State Treasurer; Stuart Clarke, Town Creek Foundation; Lynn Heller, Abel Foundation; Lori Arguelles, Alice Ferguson Foundation; Brian Hug, MDE; Bill Dennison, UMCES; Amy Owsley, Eastern Shore Land Conservancy; Sue Briggum, Waste Management Inc., Dick D'Amato, John Quinn, BGE; Peter Zadoretzky, Buzzuto Group; Lauren Gentile, Larissa Johnson, Climate Change Maryland; Adrienne Diaczok, MDE; Jason Dubow, MDP; Brad Karbowsky, UANet; James McGarvey, CCAN; Kristen Ahearn, MEA; Jason Keppler, MDA; and Tad Aburn, MDE.

I. Welcome & Introduction

David Costello opened meeting discussed the role of the Commission and working groups.

II. Commission Governance Issues

Group discussed governance issues related to the Commission and how future meetings will be handled. The following was determined:

a. **Structure:** The Secretary of MDE will serve as the Chair of the Commission. There will be two co-Chairs: Stuart Clarke, Town Creek Foundation and John Quinn, BGE. A Steering Committee was created to serve as the administrative and operational arm of the Commission. Its work will include, but not be limited to the organization of Commission meetings, development of the Commission work plan, and the regular engagement of Commission Working Groups and members.

Steering committee members are as follows:

- Non-government: Lynn Heller, Amy Owsley, Dick D'Amato, Lori Arguelles, Treasurer Kopp
- State Government MDE Secretary Grumbles; DNR Secretary Evans; University of Maryland Representative
- Working Group Liaisons The following Commission members have agreed to act as working group liaisons:
 - Lynn and James Mitigation
 - Dick and Amy Adaptation
 - Treasurer Kopp Science and Tech
 - Lori Education and Outreach

b. **Meetings:** The Commission will meet <u>four</u> times per year. At least one of those meetings will occur in Annapolis (while the Legislators are in session). The remaining three meetings will be scheduled at different locations throughout Maryland, as determined by the Commission.

c. **Protocol for attendance:** Whenever possible the appointed cabinet Secretary or Commission member should be in attendance for the quarterly Commission meeting, however they may send a designee in their place.

d. **Voting:** Only the appointed and listed Commission member is permitted to cast votes. Designees that attend on behalf of a Commission member will abstain from voting.

e. Administrative Support for the Commission will be provided by MDE and DNR.

III. Updates on Annual Work Plans – Commission Working Groups

Each working group (GHG Emission Mitigation – MDE, GHG Emissions Mitigation – MDE Adaptation & Response – DNR, Scientific & Technical – UMCES and Education & Outreach – MDE) presented updates on their progress since the last commission in December 2014. For specific group updates see attached documents.

IV. Commission Work Plan – In Development

V. Next Steps

Next Meeting of the Full Commission - Thursday, February 25 from 1:00 - 3:00 pm in Annapolis, location TBD.

VI. Adjourn