

MARINE CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD

C/O MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT 1800 WASHINGTON BLVD., SUITE 430, BALTIMORE, MD 21230 (800) 633-6101, EXT. 3249

CHRISTOPHER MCCABE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

AT-LARGE

DOUGLAS F. SUESS AT-LARGE MILTON A. REHBEIN, III, CHAIRMAN

MARINE CONTRACTOR

ROBERT MURTHA,
MARINE CONTRACTOR

JOSH SCHLEUPNER
MARINE CONTRACTOR

TAMMY ROBERSON,

DEPT. OF THE ENVIRONMENT

ANDY HANAS

DEPT. OF NATURAL RESOURCES

INFORMATION FOR LICENSE APPLICANTS

To perform marine contractor services in the State of Maryland, all contractors working in tidal waters must obtain a Maryland Marine Contractors License. Please consult the information below while preparing your application.

There are two types of license applications:

- 1. **Individual license application** This application should be completed by any individual contractor who is self-employed or may wish to become self-employed. An individual license only authorizes the license holder to perform marine contractor services in the State.
- 2. **Entity** (**Business**) **license application** This application should be completed by any contracting entity which has more than one employee. Each entity must select a representative to submit its license application and successfully complete the license examination. An entity license authorizes all members of the licensed entity to perform marine contractor services in the State.

Each applicant for a Maryland Marine Contractors License must:

- 1. Complete either an individual or entity license application
 - a. Include the address of your principal place of business as well as the address of any branch offices of your business. Include any trade names the applicant intends to use while performing marine contracting services.
 - b. Important: The person named on the application must include a detailed account of at least 2 years of full-time experience providing marine contractor services. "Marine contractor services" are defined in § 17-101(f) of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland as any "construction, demolition, installation, alteration, repair, or salvage activities located in, on, over, or under State or private tidal wetlands." Documentation of current and previous employment of the individual applicant or representative member of an entity application may be used to show the required 2 years of experience as a marine contractor. Similar experience may be approved by the MCLB (Marine Contractors Licensing Board). As stated in § 17-302(c) of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland "...an individual applicant or, if the applicant is an entity, the representative member shall: (1) have at least 2 years of experience as a full-time marine contractor or demonstrate similar contractor experience,..." If there is any question whether the applicant's experience is adequate, please contact the MCLB prior to

submitting an application. The entity representative member must have 2 years of documented marine contractor experience (See below for acceptable documentation)

- 2. Include a Social Security Number for an individual applicant or an entity applicant representative, as well as a federal tax identification number for the entity applicant. Pursuant to § 10-119.3(b) of the Family Law Article, Maryland Annotated Code, the MCLB is obligated to require that each applicant for a Maryland Marine Contractors License disclose their Social Security Number.
- 3. Attach all required supporting documents to the application including:
 - a. Certificates of insurance verifying that the applicant carries commercial liability insurance with a \$300,000 total aggregate minimum; and
 - b. Certificate of Worker's compensation insurance, unless exempt by law, if exempt, please supply explanation of reason for exemption.
- 4. If applying as an entity the following additional information is needed:
 - a. Submit a list of the entity's owners, members, or partners;
 - b. Verification that the designated representative member is a member of, or employed by, the entity. Documentation should be either IRS W-2, or 1099 or Partnership filings K-1.

Once the application is complete mail the License Application to (<u>Do not send any money with the application</u>):

Maryland Marine Contractors Licensing Board c/o Maryland Department of the Environment 1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 430 Baltimore, MD 21230

GENERAL INFORMATION

When the MCLB has received all required application documents, it will review the application to determine whether the applicant meets the requirements to be licensed as a marine contractor in the State of Maryland. Qualified applicants will be notified of the time and place for taking the exam and the study guide will be mailed to the applicant prior to the exam. An unqualified applicant will be so notified and may re-apply when the applicant becomes qualified. There are procedures for the MCLB to reconsider an application that was denied.

A person must attain a score of at least 70% to pass the written examination. The examination will be open book and consist of 50 questions which are based on material contained in the study guide.

Once an applicant passes the written license examination, the licensee will be sent an invoice for the \$550 license fee. Licenses will be issued for a two year period from the license fee payment date. * Please note that if the license fee is not paid within 90 days of passing the test; then the applicant must start the application process again including taking the test.

A minimum of 12 credit hours of continuing education is required as a precondition for license renewal of all licenses. The 12 hours of training must be obtained during the 2-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license. The continuing education courses/training programs will be provided by or approved by the Board.

For additional information please contact the Board at MDE.MCLB@maryland.gov or 410-537-3249.